Thoughts About the Playoffs and More

Amazing. That word aptly describes Kenny Rogers’ post-season performance to date. First the Yankees (thank you, Kenny). Then the A’s. Now the Cardinals. I think it would be a fitting scenario for the series to reach six games and Rogers win the clincher in Detroit. Craig Monroe is another Tigers player who is shining in the post-season, as is Carlos Guillen. Man, do the Red Sox need a shortstop like Guillen who can play adequate defense and produce at the plate. Julio Lugo, anyone?

Here are some more thoughts about the playoffs,and baseball and sports in general:

  • I read where Jamie Moyer signed a two-year contract extension in Philadelphia. Here’s hoping that Kason Gabbard becomes the BoSox version of Moyer. Sure, Moyer doesn’t have great stuff, but he finds a way to win 10-plus games each season. Gabbard has similar stuff and showed promise in 2006.
  • Jeff Weaver and Jeff Suppan have pitched well in the post-season, and both of free agents. Still, I hope the BoSox don’t sign either. I prefer Gil Meche, Vicente Padilla or Ted Lilly as a No. 5 starter. I wish we could have the Suppan trade back. I believe the Sox gave up Freddy Sanchez and Mike Gonzalez in that deal (or was that the Bronson Arroyo trade with Pittsburgh that I’m thinking of?).
  • Spring training can’t arrive soon enough. Just as I am a lifelong and devoted BoSox fan, I am also a lifelong and devoted fan of the Pittsburgh Steelers, Boston Celtics and Ohio State Buckeyes. OSU will likely win the national title in football, and maybe even in basketball, so that is fine. The Celtics have an exciting young team and could grab the 7 or 8 spot in the playoffs, but they are likely to do no better than that. The Steelers? Well, at least we won the Super Bowl last season because 2006 does not look promising.
  • I agree with the anti-Tim McCarver sentiments. I have never liked his broadcasting style. I truly do not understand why he has remained in the booth for the playoffs and World Series for so long. I can at least stomach Joe Buck. My favorite baseball broadcasting team is Jon Miller and Joe Morgan.
  • Dave Magadan is the new hitting coach and John Farrell is the new pitching coach. Two good signings, in my opinion. Now that they are signed – and Theo Epstein has inked his deal – I’m anxious for some player deals to take place. I’m sure Theo is chatting with several general managers at the World Series. The GM meeting in Naples is in November, and then the MLB winter meetings will be held here in Orlando in December. Perhaps we will know by then whether Manny will be with the BoSox in 2007.

8 comments

  1. jamie12345432@hotmail.com

    Jeff, I highly doubt that we gave up Mike Gonzalez and Sanchez for Arroyo; we got him for essentially nothing. He developed very well in our farm, but wasn’t all that impressive in the Pirates organization. I think that it had to be the Suppan deal.

    McCarver annoys me so much. It’s like someone dragged you back into 2nd grade and taught you addition all class. I don’t think he’s qualified at all to be a baseball analyst. Joe Morgan is pretty good, I agree.

    What was on Roger’s hand last night? Tar?

  2. starsfan4evr@aol.com

    i cant stand joe morgan. it bothers me when he says the same thing in different ways 3 or 4 times when hes trying to make a point

  3. jamie12345432@hotmail.com

    lol better than McCarver!

    I dislike all Fox announcers. I prefer NESN any day!

    ESPN’s got some decent guys too, but seriously, Fox just blows.

  4. Jeff

    I visited Bronson Arroyo’s web site (www.bronsonarroyo.com) and his bio says that he was claimed off waivers by the BoSox in 2003. So it was the Suppan deal that we traded Gonzalez and Sanchez – two guys we could definitely use right now!

  5. jamie12345432@hotmail.com

    lol Arroyo has his own website? haha that caught me off guard…

    Jeff, we can use all THREE guys – Sanchez, Gonzalez and Arroyo!

    A 2B, a closer, and a reliable SP. Excuse me, I need to go to a lonely corner and cry.

    P.S. Today at piano I got a new piece – Chopin’s 4th Ballade. Hardest piece from ****, I’m tellin’ you… try listening to it; your ears will explode…

  6. Jeff

    Jamie, chopsticks is a challenge for me on the piano. I tried playing the piano and the trumpet when I was in junior high, but I quickly learned I wasn’t cut out for either, so I stuck to baseball and basketball. It would be nice to have Gonzalez, Sanchez and Arroyo. I keep thinking about if we would have resigned Lowe and kept Arroyo. Then we would have a rotation of Schilling, Beckett, Papelbon, Lowe and Arroyo next season. Dare to dream!

  7. jamie12345432@hotmail.com

    Yup, with Gonzalez as a legit closer and an infield dominated by Sox farmhands, including Sanchez, Youk, and Pedroia. Lowe would’ve benifitted a lot from the improved defense too…

    We can still have a Schilling-Beckett-Papelbon rotation though! I’m really looking forward to that next year! With Lester returning (hopefully), Wakefield pitching a couple more 200-inning seasons and some possible FA imports, our pitching looks pretty stable for the near future. I can’t wait for the WS to be over so that the FA signing and trading periods can start!!

    How long till the Winter meetings?

  8. jamie12345432@hotmail.com

    funny thing, I’ve never actually heard anyone play chopstick before. I have no idea what it sounds like! lol

    I tried playing baseball once too lol. Tried out for the school team, fouled off a couple of 70mph straight fastballs, missed a few more, and decided to stick to watching it instead lol. It’s alot harder than it looks to play!

Leave a comment